An attempt to destabilize Alexis Leger : Case de Noblet-Briand-Leger

To the right (Le Figaro) and especially the extreme right (L’Action française), it is an episode of their usual fight against Briand and socialism, en more 1930, as it relates to the Quai d'Orsay and especially Alexis Leger, Director of Cabinet of the Minister, it is a war machine against the Memorandum especially the foreign press is in fact largely echo.

The case dates back to October 1928. A confidential document (a note of Philippe Berthelot on a Franco-British naval compromise reached after a conference in London) finds himself in the United States published in newspapers of newspaper magnate William Randolph Hearst (it was he who served as a model for Orson Welles for his film Citizen Kane). Hearst est pro-nazi. The publication of the document has scuppered the Franco-British negotiations, seen as directed against Germany.

Official thesis : an official of the Quai d'Orsay, Jean de Noblet, 3e Secretary of Embassy, would be responsible for the theft of the document, with the help of a journalist, Roger DELEPLANQUE, acting on behalf of an American journalist Hearst, Harold J. T. Horan. It loses its accreditation to Paris. De Noblet was arrested by police and placed on leave by his administration.

AF_1930_08_14_0
“The case Noblet-Briand-Leger, I”, L’Action française, 14 août 1930
(Full Text, site de French : click on image)

Over Noblet, supported by his family, the de Noblet Anglure, refuses to play the complaint fuses and door partie civile (March 1929) against a police officer for false imprisonment and defamation against Alexis Leger. According to him, Leger is itself the source of the leak (we know that any time, Alexis Leger used the press in the best interests of his minister). It overwhelms Leger in the story he published in The Uncompromising the 9 avril. The purpose of Leger ? It would have been for him and Briand to derail the Anglo-French negotiations not to upset Germany, Franco-German reconciliation and peace are at the heart of the action Briand. For Leger, another thought could animate : discredit Berthelot. Briand and Leger are heard by the justice. De Noblet is called before a Disciplinary Board met on 14 November 1929. It is revoked 27 avril 1930. Justice delivers a non-place for Briand and Leger in July (“stop convenience tonne L’Action française) but Noblet immediately appealed in cassation to the Council of State. The 2 September, Hearst, is rejected at the border and the entire American press recalls the case, from June New York Times to Milwaukee Journal.

And during that time… Briand's speech in Geneva is the 5 September 1929, drafting the Memorandum ended May 1 1930, it is sent to the capitals 17, until July there is no question of him in the press, in September held in Geneva meeting that attempts a synthesis of responses… Throughout this period, especially from July, L’Action française rages on “L'Affaire de Noblet – Briand – Army”… It will continue its systematic attacks when clear that the draft European federation was stillborn but there will still reference for years, as an illustration of the flaws of the Republic.

AF_1930_08_16_1OF 1930-08-15-01

“The case Noblet-Briand-Leger, II et III”, L’Action française, 15 and 16 août 1930
(Full Text, site de French : click images)

Roger DELEPLANQUE, after became editor of the political war Le Petit Bleu, create a collection of books specialized in the rehabilitation of former collaborators and publish soon 1947 a novel key, largely inspired by the case, as draws A crime au Quai d'Orsay. Briand, Army, are very recognizable.

Sources :
Archives nationales, Criminal Division of the Ministry of Justice, trivial cases, 1e series, 1890-1940 (20 BL 320)
L’Action française, 23/11/1929, 11/07/1930, 12/07/1930, 13/07/1930, 16/07/1930, 20/07/1930, 23/07/1930, 26/07/1930, 27/07/1930, 29/07/1930, 30/07/1930, 7/08/1930, 14/08/1930, 15/07/1930, 16/08/1930, 19/08/1930, 8/09/1930, 14/09/1930, 16/10/1930, 17/10/1930, 20/02/1931, 1/05/1931
L'Express du Midi,
21/11/1929
Le Cyrano
, 21/10/1928, 28/10/1928, 24/02/1929, 7/07/1929, 1/03/1931, 3/05/1931, 10/05/1931, 17/05/1931, 24/05/1931, 3/04/1932, 2/03/1934
Le Figaro, passim, 12/07/1930, p. 4
Le Petit Parisien, passim, 30/04/1931
New York Times, passim, , 3/09/1930
The Milwaukee Journal,
3/09/1930

Une tentative de déstabilisation d’Alexis Leger : l’affaire de Noblet-Briand-Leger

Pour la droite (Le Figaro) et surtout l’extrême droite (L’Action française), il s’agit d’un épisode de leur combat habituel contre Briand et le socialisme, mais en 1930, puisqu’elle concerne le Quai d’Orsay et spécialement Alexis Leger, directeur du cabinet du Ministre, elle est une machine de guerre contre le Memorandum d’autant que la presse étrangère s’en fait largement l’écho.

L’affaire remonte à octobre 1928. Un document confidentiel (une note de Philippe Berthelot sur un compromis naval franco-britannique établi à la suite d’une conférence à Londres) se retrouve publié aux États-Unis dans les journaux du magnat de la presse William Randolph Hearst (c’est lui qui a servi de modèle à Orson Welles pour son film Citizen Kane). Hearst est pro-nazi. La publication du document a fait capoter les négociations franco-anglaises, perçues comme dirigées contre l’Allemagne.

Thèse officielle : un fonctionnaire du Quai d’Orsay, Jean de Noblet, 3e secrétaire d’ambassade, serait responsable du vol du document, avec la complicité d’un journaliste, Roger Deleplanque, agissant pour le compte d’un journaliste américain du groupe Hearst, Harold J. T. Horan. Ce dernier perd ses accréditations à Paris. De Noblet a été arrêté par la police puis mis en congé par son administration.

AF_1930_08_14_0
« L’affaire de Noblet-Briand-Leger, I », L’Action française, 14 août 1930
(texte intégral, site de Gallica : cliquer sur l’image)

Mais de Noblet, soutenu par sa famille, les de Noblet d’Anglure, refuse de jouer les fusibles et porte plainte avec constitution de partie civile (mars 1929) contre un commissaire de police pour séquestration arbitraire et contre Alexis Leger pour diffamation. Selon lui, Leger serait lui-même à l’origine de la fuite (on sait que de tout temps, Alexis Leger a utilisé la presse au mieux des intérêts de son ministre). Il accable Leger dans le récit qu’il en publie dans L’Intransigeant le 9 avril. Le but de Leger ? Il se serait agi pour Briand et lui de faire capoter les négociations franco-anglaises pour ne pas fâcher l’Allemagne, la réconciliation franco-allemande et la paix étant au cœur de l’action de Briand. Pour Leger, une autre pensée pouvait l’animer : discréditer Berthelot. Briand et Leger sont entendus par la justice. De Noblet est convoqué devant un Conseil de discipline réuni le 14 novembre 1929. Il est révoqué le 27 avril 1930. La justice prononce un non-lieu en faveur de Briand et Leger en juillet (« arrêt de complaisance tonne L’Action française) mais de Noblet se pourvoit immédiatement en cassation auprès du Conseil d’État. Le 2 septembre, Hearst, est refoulé à la frontière et toute la presse américaine rappelle l’affaire, du New York Times au  Milwaukee Journal.

Et pendant ce temps-là… Le discours de Briand à Genève est du 5 septembre 1929, la rédaction du Memorandum est terminée le 1er mai 1930, il est adressé aux capitales le 17, jusqu’en juillet il n’est question que de lui dans la presse, en septembre se tient à Genève la réunion qui tente une synthèse des réponses reçues… Dans toute cette période, surtout à partir de juillet, L’Action française se déchaîne au sujet de « L’Affaire de Noblet – Briand – Leger »… Elle ne cessera ses attaques systématiques que lorsqu’il sera clair que le projet de fédération européenne est mort-né mais y fera référence encore pendant des années, comme illustration des tares de la République.

AF_1930_08_16_1AF 1930-08-15-01

« L’affaire de Noblet-Briand-Leger, II et III », L’Action française, 15 et 16 août 1930
(texte intégral, site de Gallica : cliquer sur les images)

Roger Deleplanque, devenu après la guerre directeur politique du journal Le Petit Bleu, créera une collection de livres spécialisée dans la réhabilitation des anciens collaborateurs et publiera dès 1947 un roman à clés, très largement inspiré de l’affaire, sous le tire Un crime au Quai d’Orsay. Briand, Leger, y sont très reconnaissables.

Sources :
Archives nationales, Division criminelle du Ministère de la Justice, dossiers banaux, 1e série, 1890-1940 (20 BL 320)
L’Action française, 23/11/1929, 11/07/1930, 12/07/1930, 13/07/1930, 16/07/1930, 20/07/1930, 23/07/1930, 26/07/1930, 27/07/1930, 29/07/1930, 30/07/1930, 7/08/1930, 14/08/1930, 15/07/1930, 16/08/1930, 19/08/1930, 8/09/1930, 14/09/1930, 16/10/1930, 17/10/1930, 20/02/1931, 1/05/1931
L’Express du Midi,
21/11/1929
Le Cyrano
, 21/10/1928, 28/10/1928, 24/02/1929, 7/07/1929, 1/03/1931, 3/05/1931, 10/05/1931, 17/05/1931, 24/05/1931, 3/04/1932, 2/03/1934
Le Figaro, passim, 12/07/1930, p. 4
Le Petit Parisien, passim, 30/04/1931
New York Times, passim, , 3/09/1930
The Milwaukee Journal,
3/09/1930