Richard Coudenhove-Kalergi (1894-1972)

Coudenhove_portarit Paneuropa

His book-manifesto, Paneuropa, was published in 1923. He advocated a union of European states, which presupposes a Franco-German reconciliation, its purpose is certainly, as Briand, prevent any repetition of the disaster 14-18 but to allow "Europe to ensure its independence from the non-European world powers are growing”. The book has been a great success very quickly.

His ideas very directly inspired Aristide Briand, even if it has a political rather than economic vision of the future United States of Europe.

In October 1926, the first Congress of the Pan-European Union meeting in Vienna more 2000 participants from 24 country, voting statutes and elect Coudenhove movement to the presidency of the Central Council (Briand and the Honorary President).

Coudenhove_Europa_erwacht

At this congress is played the’Ode to Joy drawn from the Ninth Symphony by Beethoven Coudenhove proposes to adopt as the European anthem. He also proposed the establishment of a “Europe Day” and a single currency.

Europe awakens !

Coudenhove and 1940 spreads, as Alexis Leger, exiled to New York where he remained until 1944. Postwar, he resumed his struggle to overcome its pan-European project, multiplying publications and initiatives.

Saint-John Perse Foundation maintains one of the first copies of the magazine Paneurope, No. 8-10 from 1929, For Pan-European conference.

It also keeps 13 personal letters Coudenhove-Kalergi Alexis Léger (years 1942-1960) where it is essentially about the future of Europe and pan-European conference (which the diplomat is repeatedly called).

Coudenhove-Kalergi spoke just after Alexis Leger at the International commemoration organized 1942 in New York to mark the 80th anniversary of the birth of Aristide Briand. Their speeches, and that of some other speakers, were immediately published, English, New York.

Richard de Coudenhove-Kalergi (1894-1972)

Coudenhove_portarit                     Paneuropa

Son livre-manifeste, Paneuropa, a été publié en 1923. Il y préconise une union des États européens, ce qui suppose d’abord une réconciliation franco-allemande, son but est certes, comme Briand, d’éviter que ne se reproduise la catastrophe de 14-18 mais de permettre à « l’Europe d’assurer son indépendance face aux puissances mondiales extra-européennes qui sont en pleine croissance ».  L’ouvrage a connu très vite un vif succès.

    Ses idées ont très directement inspiré Aristide Briand, même si celui-ci a une vision plus politique qu’économique des futurs États-Unis d’Europe.

    En octobre 1926, le premier Congrès de l’Union paneuropéenne réunit à Vienne plus de 2000 participants venus de 24 pays, qui votent les statuts du mouvement et élisent Coudenhove à la présidence du Conseil central (et Briand à la Présidence d’honneur).

Coudenhove_Europa_erwacht

    A ce congrès est jouée l’Ode à la joie tirée de la IXème symphonie de Beethoven que Coudenhove propose d’adopter comme hymne européen. Il a aussi proposé l’instauration d’une « journée de l’Europe » et d’une monnaie unique.

L’Europe s’éveille !

 

    Coudenhove en 1940 s’est, comme Alexis Leger, exilé à New York où il resta jusqu’en 1944. Après la guerre, il reprit son combat pour faire triompher son projet paneuropéen, multipliant les publications et les initiatives. 

    La Fondation Saint-John Perse conserve un des premiers exemplaires de la revue Paneurope, n° 8-10 de 1929, Pour une conférence Paneuropéenne.

    Elle conserve aussi 13 lettres personnelles de Coudenhove-Kalergi à Alexis Léger (années 1942-1960) où il est essentiellement question de l’avenir de l’Europe et de congrès pan-européens (auxquels le diplomate est à plusieurs reprises invité).

     Coudenhove-Kalergi a parlé juste après Alexis Leger lors de la Commémoration internationale organisée en 1942 à New York à l’occasion du 80e anniversaire de la naissance d’Aristide Briand. Leurs discours, et celui de quelques autres orateurs, ont aussitôt été publiés, en anglais, à New York.