André Gide – Saint-John Perse
Exhibit and Encounter

from June 20 th to October 25 th 2014
Saint-John Perse Foundation

2014_06_20-Gide_SJP_afficheVernissage of the exhibit on Friday 20 June, at 20 p. m.,
Preceeded at 19 p. m., Espace "Lecture publique", Méjanes Library, by an encounter with Jean-Pierre Prévost, its author, and with the Professors Henriette Levillain and Frank Lestringant, who are specialists of Gide and Saint-John Perse..

Presentation of the exhibit

At first glance these two great literary figures of the twentieth century have little in common. One, André Gide (1869-1951), the capital contemporain, Much has been written, and in all possible forms : roman, theater, tests, Journal the other ..., Saint-John Perse (1887-1975) essentially poems. One came from a bourgeois family, the other Guadeloupe Creole origin cabbie. They are of different generations : twenty years apart, temperament, their behavior, their goals differ. And yet they will meet, appreciate, will also annoy, and forge bonds of friendship marked by respect and mutual admiration.

The chronologically to tell the story of this exhibition aims to meet, its roots, its anchor points, development, limitations as, as an investigation twists.

Presentation of the encounter

Gide was the eminence grise of many companies whose intellectual NRF. Leger Dating 1911 during his first visit to Paris and lease all his life “historical insight” from “this real French figure of his time”. Yet the relationship started badly with a publication ofPraises in the packed NRF mistakes and shells but Leger would never render Gide responsible although he threatened to never publish this magazine. Still Valery Larbaud devoted an admiring article Praises in The Phalange. Gide and Saint-John Perse keep for nearly forty years a true relationship eclipses but undeniably strong, brief enigmatic.

Participants :
Henriette Levillain, Emeritus Professor at Paris 4 Sorbonne, author Saint John Perse (Fayard Editions, 2013)
and Frank Lestringant, Professeur à la Sorbonne, author’André Gide inquiéteur (Flammarion editions, 2011)
Jean-Pierre Prevost director and television writer. He led the writing of the book André Gide, A family album (Éditions Gallimard/Fondation Catherine Gide 2010) and collaborated with Interviews de Catherine Gide (Gallimard 2009).
Moderation : Antoine Spire, journalist and academic.

2014_06_20_Gide_SJP_carton

click image to enlarge

Just published (June 2014)
2014_06_20_Gide_AL_PREVOST_Couv

André Gide - Saint John Foris - An unusual encounter, 1902-1914, Jean-Pierre Prevost, Éditions Orizons (L'Harmattan), 112 p.

André Gide – Saint-John Perse
Exposition et rencontre

du 20 juin au 25 octobre 2014
dans les locaux de la Fondation Saint-John Perse

2014_06_20-Gide_SJP_affichevernissage de l’exposition le vendredi 20 juin, à 20 heures,
précédé à 19 heures, Espace lecture publique, Bibliothèque Méjanes, d’une rencontre avec Jean-Pierre Prévost, son concepteur et avec les Professeurs Henriette Levillain et Franck Lestringant, spécialistes des deux auteurs.

Présentation de l’exposition

A priori ces deux grandes figures de la littérature du XXe siècle ont peu de points communs. L’un, André Gide (1869-1951), le contemporain capital, a beaucoup écrit, et sous toutes les formes possibles : roman, théâtre, essais, Journal… l’autre, Saint-John Perse (1887-1975) essentiellement des poèmes. L’un est issu d’une grande famille bourgeoise, l’autre d’origine créole de Guadeloupe assez modeste. Ils sont de générations différentes : vingt ans les séparent, leur tempérament, leur comportement, leurs objectifs diffèrent. Et pourtant ils vont se rencontrer, s’apprécier, s’agacer aussi, et tisser des liens amicaux empreints de respect et d’admiration réciproque.

L’exposition a pour objectif de raconter chronologiquement l’histoire de cette rencontre, ses racines, ses points d’ancrage, son développement, ses limites aussi, comme une enquête à rebondissements.

Présentation de la rencontre

Gide fut l’éminence grise de nombreuses entreprises intellectuelles dont la NRF. Leger le rencontre en 1911 lors de son premier séjour parisien et louera toute sa vie la « perspicacité historique » de « cette vraie figure française de son temps ». Pourtant la relation avait mal commencé avec une publication d’Éloges dans la NRF bourrée de fautes et de coquilles mais Leger ne voulut jamais en rendre Gide responsable bien qu’il ait menacé de ne plus jamais publier dans cette revue. Toujours est-il que Valery Larbaud consacra un article admiratif à Éloges dans La Phalange. Gide et Saint-John Perse conserveront pendant près de quarante ans une relation certes à éclipses mais incontestablement forte, bref énigmatique.

Les participants :
Henriette Levillain, Professeur émérite à Paris 4 Sorbonne, auteure de Saint John Perse (Éditions Fayard, 2013)
Frank Lestringant, Professeur à la Sorbonne, auteur d’André Gide l’inquiéteur (Éditions Flammarion, 2011)
Jean-Pierre Prévost réalisateur et scénariste de télévision. Il a dirigé la rédaction du livre André Gide, Un album de famille (Éditions Gallimard/Fondation Catherine Gide 2010) et collaboré aux Entretiens de Catherine Gide (Éditions Gallimard 2009).
Modération : Antoine Spire, journaliste et universitaire.

2014_06_20_Gide_SJP_carton

cliquer sur l’image pour l’agrandir

 

 Vient de paraître (juin 2014)
2014_06_20_Gide_AL_PREVOST_Couv

 

André Gide – Saint-John Perse – Une rencontre insolite, 1902-1914, Jean-Pierre Prévost, Éditions Orizons (L’Harmattan), 112 p.