Signé Douglas

This event, scheduled 17 th, not occurred.
It was postponed to a later date

Thursday 17 th 2013 at 18 . 30,
in the context of the 3rd edition of Festival des Outre-Mers
at the Fondation Calouste Gulbenkian, Paris (Free entry)
39 boulevard de la Tour-Maubourg 75007 Paris

« Signé Douglas »
The correspondence of Saint-John Perse and Calouste Gulbenkian

Literary Meet
Gerard Lamoureux, Delegate General Festival des Outre-Mers,
Henriette Levillain
, Professor Emeritus at the University of Paris IV-Sorbonne,
Vasco Graça Moura, Director Fondation Calouste Gulbenkian, Lisbon.

Presentation
This correspondence between the businessman-collector and poet-diplomat, archived at the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation in Lisbon, begins after the exile in the United States of Saint-John Perse and ends one year before the death of Gulbenkian (1946-1954). It is composed of 52 Letters of Alexis Leger, aka Saint John Perse (called Douglas), long and dense, and 37 letters Calouste Gulbenkian (Douglas also called ...).

Guessing legal and financial difficulties of Alexis Leger, the billionaire philanthropist offered him a regular allowance, in exchange for which he would get from the former diplomat information on the international political situation for the United States. The conversation between the two men intertwines two main themes : concerns, the Cold War, threats of a possible third world war ; the park development projects Pens. So we discovered two new faces of Saint-John Perse : a diplomat with global visions, marked by his personal experience of the disaster entered the war and the U.S. informed sources ; a landscape, land and climate expert Norman and botanical expert. The friendly conversational tone allows more intimate evocations, especially in these two hypochondriacs, health concerns, grief and sadness of the distance.

Of Armenian origin, creator of the Turkish Oil Company and great business man, Calouste Gulbenkian met Alexis Leger, then director of cabinet of Aristide Briand (1925). Gulbenkian was one of the most colossal fortunes of his time and a world-renowned collection of paintings. In France, it was divided between a Jena Avenue mansion topped by a terrace with a bird aviary and a park above Deauville, Les Enclos, where he planned to build a house.

———————

Signé Douglas

Cette manifestation, prévue le 17 octobre, n’a pas eu lieu.
Elle est reportée à une date ultérieure

Le jeudi 17 octobre 2013 à 18 h 30, 
dans le cadre de la 3e édition du Festival des Outre-Mers 
à la Fondation Calouste Gulbenkian, Paris (entrée libre)
39 boulevard de la Tour-Maubourg 75007 Paris

« Signé Douglas » 
La correspondance de Saint-John Perse et Calouste Gulbenkian

Rencontre littéraire avec 
Gérard Lamoureuxdélégué général du Festival des Outre-Mers,
Henriette Levillain
, professeur émérite à l’Université de Paris IV-Sorbonne, 
Vasco Graça Moura, directeur de la Fondation Calouste Gulbenkian, Lisbonne.

Présentation
          Cette correspondance entre l’homme d’affaires-collectionneur et le poète-diplomate, archivée à la Fondation Calouste Gulbenkian de Lisbonne, commence après l’exil aux États-Unis de Saint-John Perse et se termine un an avant la mort de Gulbenkian (1946-1954). Elle est composée de 52 lettres d’Alexis Leger, alias Saint John Perse (surnommé Douglas), longues et denses, et de 37 lettres de Calouste Gulbenkian (surnommé aussi Douglas…).

          Devinant les difficultés morales et financières d’Alexis Leger, le milliardaire et philanthrope lui proposa une allocation régulière, en échange de quoi il obtiendrait de la part de l’ancien diplomate des informations sur la situation politique internationale vue des États-Unis. La conversation entre les deux hommes entrelace deux thèmes principaux : les préoccupations liées, en pleine guerre froide, aux menaces d’une éventuelle troisième guerre mondiale ; les projets d’aménagement du parc des Enclos. On découvre donc deux visages nouveaux de Saint-John Perse : un diplomate aux visions planétaires, marqué par son expérience personnelle du désastre de l’entrée en guerre et informé aux sources américaines ; un paysagiste, connaisseur en terre et climat normands et expert en botanique. Le ton amical de la conversation permet des évocations plus intimes, en particulier chez ces deux hypocondriaques, les préoccupations de santé, le deuil et la tristesse de l’éloignement.

           D’origine arménienne, créateur de la Turkish Oil Company et grand homme d’affaires, Calouste Gulbenkian rencontra Alexis Leger, alors directeur de cabinet d’Aristide Briand (1925). Gulbenkian avait une des fortunes les plus colossales de son temps et une collection de peinture reconnue mondialement. En France, il se partageait entre un hôtel particulier avenue d’Iéna surmonté d’une terrasse avec volière d’oiseaux et un parc au-dessus de Deauville, Les Enclos, où il projetait de construire une maison.

———————