Encounters

“Assemblers of seasons at the highest points of intersection.”
Birds, I

Saint-John Perse forged friendships with many writers, musicians and painters of his time. As a student in Pau, he met the writer Francis Jammes in 1902 who introduced him to Paul Claudel. While studying law in Bordeaux, he corresponded with the prominent writers from the Nouvelle Revue Française : André Gide, Jacques Rivière, Valery Larbaud, Léon-Paul Fargue and Paul Valéry.

Through the art collector Gabriel Frizeau, he came in contact with Gauguin’s paintings, Odilon Redon meth, André Dunoyer de Segonzac and André Lhote, who introduced him to the African art, Fauvism and Cubism. During a trip to England in 1912, he visited Joseph Conrad and Rabindranath Tagore.

In Paris, in the excitement of the beginning of the century, he went with the young composer Claude Debussy to the premiere of Rite of Spring. He spent time in the salon of pianist Misia Sert, a friend of Diaghilev, director of the Ballets Russes.While in the press corps at the Qaui d’Orsay, he worked with Jean Giraudoux, Paul Morand and Jean Cocteau. As Secretary of Embassy in Beijing from 1916 to 1921, he met Victor Segalen and China and Tibet scholars Marcel Pelliot, Granet and Paul Jacques Bacot.

While he was in China, his youthful poems “Praise” and “Images Crusoe” were set to music by Darius Milhaud and Louis Durey the Group of Six. On his return from China, he frequented the circle of the journal Commerce alongside musicians Erik Satie, Darius Milhaud and Igor Stravinsky and poets Paul Valéry, Léon-Paul Fargue, Valery Larbaud, T. S. Eliot, Archibald MacLeish and Rainer Maria Rilke. He had a brief affair with Marie Laurencin. Guillaume Apollinaire and Marcel Proust both devoted his poetry. André Breton called him a “proxy surrealist” in his Manifest of 1924. René Crevel and Roger Vitrac went to see him. Rainer Maria Rilke translated a fragment of “Images Crusoe”. Walter Benjamin, Giuseppe Ungaretti, then T. S. Eliot undertook translations of Anabasis.

During his American exile, he came to know Edgar Varèse, Igor Stravinsky and Pierre Boulez. Despite his exile in the U.S., his literary reputation and relationships with the Parisian milieu of Commerce contributed to maintening links. The director of the Library of Congress, writer Archibald MacLeish, the poet-critic Katherine Biddle and her husband Francis Biddle, Minister of Justice under Roosevelt, became friends and protectors along with Mina Curtiss. Saint-John Perse maintened voluminous correspondence with two great figures of twentieth-century American poetry : T. S. Eliot and Allen Tate.

He was friend with Alain Bosquet, Roger Caillois, Pierre-Jean Jouve, Jean Paulhan, Jorge Luis Borges and Octavio Paz. In Provence, the author of Seamarks (“Seamarks“) was fervently awaited by René Char, John Ballard and his staff at Cahiers du Sud.

To date there are more than forty musical adaptations of his work. Many musicians are tempted by this polyphonic poetry : Paul Bowles, Alan Hovhaness, Karl Birger Blomdahl, Wolfgang Fortner, Hermann Reutter, Boucourechliev, Elliott Carter, Maurice Racol and more recently the Finnish composer Kaija Saariaho. Visual artists were also inspired by his work. From the thirties, Louis Marcoussis and Giorgio de Chirico seized on Anabasis. They were followed by Georges Braque, André Marchand, Zao Wou-Ki, Lucien Clergue, Antoni Clave, Claude Garanjoud and others. Among the contemporary writers, of particular note is the importance of Saint-John Perse for Creole authors such as Patrick Chamoiseau, Raphaël Confiant and Édouard Glissant

Rencontres

« Assembleurs de saisons aux plus hauts lieux d’intersection. »
Oiseaux, I

 

Esprit ouvert, Saint-John Perse noue des amitiés avec les écrivains, les musiciens et les peintres de son temps. Lycéen à Pau, il rencontre dès 1902 l’écrivain Francis Jammes qui le présente à Paul Claudel. L’un et l’autre constituent des modèles pour l’auteur d’Éloges. Étudiant en droit à Bordeaux, il correspond avec le groupe des écrivains de La Nouvelle Revue Française : André Gide, Jacques Rivière, Valery Larbaud, Léon-Paul Fargue et Paul Valéry.

Chez le collectionneur Gabriel Frizeau, il s’émeut devant les toiles de Gauguin, croise Odilon Redon, André Dunoyer de Segonzac et André Lhote, qui l’initie à « l’art nègre », au fauvisme et au cubisme. Lors d’un voyage en Angleterre en 1912, il rend visite à Joseph Conrad et Rabindranath Tagore.

À Paris, dans l’effervescence du début du siècle, le jeune poète assiste avec Claude Debussy à la première du Sacre du printemps. Il est familier du salon de la pianiste Misia Sert, amie de Diaghilev, le directeur des Ballets russes. Au service de la presse dirigé par Philippe Berthelot, il travaille aux côtés de Jean Giraudoux, Paul Morand et Jean Cocteau. Secrétaire d’ambassade à Pékin de 1916 à 1921, il croise Victor Segalen et fréquente des sinologues et tibétisants comme Paul Pelliot, Marcel Granet, Jacques Bacot.

En son absence, ses poèmes de jeunesse « Éloges » et « Images à Crusoé » sont mis en musique par Darius Milhaud et Louis Durey du Groupe des six. À son retour de Chine, il fait partie du cercle de la revue Commerce où les musiciens Erik Satie, Darius Milhaud, et Igor Stravinski côtoient les poètes Paul Valéry, Léon-Paul Fargue, Valery Larbaud, T. S. Eliot, Archibald MacLeish et Rainer Maria Rilke. Il entretient alors une brève liaison avec Marie Laurencin. Cité par Guillaume Apollinaire et Marcel Proust, le poète est reconnu comme « surréaliste à distance » par André Breton dans le Manifeste de 1924. Il reçoit d’ailleurs les visites de René Crevel et de Roger Vitrac. Rainer Maria Rilke tente de traduire un fragment d’« Images à Crusoé » . Walter Benjamin, Giuseppe Ungaretti, puis T. S. Eliot se lancent dans la traduction d’Anabase.

Au cours de son exil américain, il se fait l’intime d’Edgar Varèse, d’Igor Stravinski et rencontre Pierre Boulez. Sa situation de diplomate en exil, sa renommée littéraire et les relations établies à Paris dans le milieu de la revue Commerce contribuent à rompre son isolement. Il se rapproche du directeur de la Bibliothèque du Congrès, le poète Archibald MacLeish, et de l’écrivain Katherine Biddle. Katherine et Francis Biddle – ministre de la justice de Roosevelt – sont aux États-Unis les amis et fidèles protecteurs du poète, à l’instar de la musicologue Mina Curtiss. Saint-John Perse poursuit aussi une abondante correspondance avec deux grandes figures de la poésie américaine du XXe siècle : T. S. Eliot et Allen Tate.

ren__char

Ses poèmes le placent enfin dans l’amitié d’Alain Bosquet, de Roger Caillois, de Pierre-Jean Jouve, de Jean Paulhan, de Jorge Luis Borges et d’Octavio Paz. En Provence, l’auteur d’Amers est attendu avec ferveur par René Char (photo ci-contre). Jean Ballard et ses collaborateurs des Cahiers du Sud l’accompagnent en Camargue et à Marseille.

On compte à ce jour une quarantaine d’adaptations musicales de son œuvre. De nombreux musiciens vont se laisser tenter par les accents de cette poésie polyphonique : Paul Bowles, Alan Hovhaness, Karl Birger Blomdahl, Wolfgang Fortner, Hermann Reutter, André Boucourechliev, Elliott Carter, Maurice Racol et plus récemment la compositrice finlandaise Kaija Saariaho. Entre la sèche illustration et la « consanguinité » exemplaire de la rencontre entre Braque et Saint-John Perse, les œuvres picturales et les livres d’artiste inventent le plus souvent un univers parallèle en s’attachant aux images, au langage, voire à l’écriture du poème. Dès les années trente, Louis Marcoussis et Giorgio de Chirico s’emparent ainsi d’Anabase. Ils sont suivis par Georges Braque, André Marchand, Zao Wou-Ki, Lucien Clergue, Antoni Clavé, Claude Garanjoud et bien d’autres. Parmi les écrivains contemporains, on notera tout particulièrement l’importance de Saint-John Perse pour les auteurs de la créolité tels que Patrick Chamoiseau, Raphaël Confiant et Édouard Glissant

    
Patrick Chamoiseau                        Raphaël Confiant                         Édouard Glissant