Apollinaire and the Mediterranean
To celebrate the centenary of’Alcools

Exhibit

from June 11 January to 23 March 2013

Opening Friday 11 janvier 2013, at 18 . 30

To commemorate the centennial of Alcools Guillaume Apollinaire, Universities of Aix-Marseille and Paris III Sorbonne Nouvelle organize a symposium entitled Apollinaire and the Mediterranean to be held in Aix-en-Provence from 11 to 13 avril 2013. Read here the call for papers. As a prelude to this event, the Saint-John Perse Foundation Aix-en-Provence, in association with the Library Méjanes, are planning an exhibition with the same title. These two events are a natural fit with others 2013 events that accompany the Centenary of Alcools to national celebrations and the choice of Marseille as European Capital of Culture.

Aix-en-Provence as the subject of the exhibition and the conference were not randomly selected. If there is no evidence of Apollinaire living in this city, Mediterranean Youth poet until the age of 18 years and the choice of Aix as imaginary place of his intellectual and emotional enough to justify.

Exhibition curator : Madame Muriel Calvet, assisted Madame Claude Debon, Professor Emeritus at the Sorbonne Nouvelle, specialist Apollinaire, Madame Dominique Mazel, Honorary Curator of the Library Méjanes, and Mr. Orpheus Szinétar, librarian of the Saint-John Perse Foundation .

Apollinaire et la Méditerranée
Pour fêter le centenaire d’Alcools

Exposition

du 11 janvier au 23 mars 2013

Vernissage le vendredi 11 janvier 2013, à 18  h 30 

          Pour célébrer le centenaire d’Alcools de Guillaume Apollinaire, les Universités d’Aix-Marseille et de Paris III Sorbonne Nouvelle organisent un colloque intitulé Apollinaire et la Méditerranée qui se tiendra à Aix-en-Provence du 11 au 13 avril 2013. Lire ici l’appel à communications. En prélude à cet événement, la Fondation Saint-John Perse d’Aix-en-Provence, en association avec la Bibliothèque Méjanes, projette une exposition portant le même intitulé. Ces deux événements s’inscrivent naturellement dans les manifestations qui en 2013 accompagneront l’inscription d’Alcools aux Célébrations nationales et le choix de Marseille comme capitale européenne de la culture.

          La ville d’Aix-en-Provence comme le sujet de l’exposition et du colloque n’ont pas été choisis au hasard. Si rien n’atteste un séjour d’Apollinaire dans cette ville, la jeunesse méditerranéenne du poète jusqu’à l’âge de 18 ans et le choix du pays d’Aix comme lieu imaginaire de sa formation intellectuelle et affective suffisent à les justifier.

      Commissaire de l’exposition : Madame Muriel Calvet, assistée de Madame Claude Debon, professeur émérite à la Sorbonne nouvelle, spécialiste d’Apollinaire, de Madame Dominique Mazel, conservateur honoraire de la Bibliothèque Méjanes, et de Monsieur Orphée Szinétar, documentaliste de la Fondation Saint-John Perse.