The Locarno Treaties

Locarno, small Swiss town on Lake Maggiore, is famous for the agreements that were signed, the 16 th 1925 (ratified on 1 December), between France, Germany, the Belgique, la Grande-Bretagne, Italy, Poland and Czechoslovakia. They aim to ensure collective security in Europe. “They mark the beginning of an era of trust and cooperation. Must Locarno, a new Europe rises” (Briand).

Among other agreements, the Pact of Locarno (or Rhine Pact) puts an end to the dispute between France (Briand) and Germany (Stresemann) about war reparations (Germany does not want or can not pay, they are appointed), their common border (Alsace-Lorraine is finally returned to France), it allows the term entry of Germany into the League of Nations (effective le 10 December 1926).

Locarno agreements have generated immense hope in all segments of the population, what has been called the’esprit de Locarno bathroom all the time until the early 1930, the Memorandum Briand-Leger is the ultimate translation.

Les accords de Locarno

Locarno, petite commune suisse au bord du lac Majeur, est célèbre pour les accords qui y ont été signés, le 16 octobre 1925 (ratifiés le 1er décembre), entre la France, l’Allemagne, la Belgique, la Grande-Bretagne, l’Italie, la Pologne et la Tchécoslovaquie. Ils visent à assurer la sécurité collective en Europe. « Ils marquent le début d’une ère de confiance et de collaboration. Il faut que de Locarno, une Europe nouvelle se lève » (Briand).

Entre autres accords, le Pacte de Locarno (ou Pacte rhénan) met un terme au différend entre la France (Briand) et l’Allemagne (Stresemann) au sujet des réparations de guerre (que l’Allemagne ne veut ou ne peut plus payer, elles sont aménagées), de leur frontière commune (l’Alsace-Lorraine est définitivement rendue à la France), il permet à terme l’entrée de l’Allemagne dans la Société des Nations (effective le 10 décembre 1926).

Les accords de Locarno ont suscité un immense espoir dans toutes les couches de la population, ce qu’on a appelé l’esprit de Locarno baigne toute l’époque jusqu’au début des années 1930, le Memorandum Briand-Leger en est l’ultime traduction.