The Collections

Through 20 000 documents, the Foundation restores the cultural universe of one of the greatest writers of the 20th century : manuscripts, correspondence, books from his personal library, copies of his works, critical works, photographs, works of art, discs, and files. This collection is distinguished by its heritage (14 100 documents belonged to Saint-John Perse) and the multitude of support it receives. Taken collectively, these documents piece together the intellectual journey of Saint-John Perse and show the ins and outs of his creative work. Acquisitions and donations regularly enrich the collection.

Latest entries in Collections

Access to Collections

Communication

Collections are described in paper catalogs available on site. The fund is being computerized.

Online

  • Books kept at the Foundation, whether the personal library of Alexis Leger / Saint-John Perse or other, including studies on him, are being cataloged on the website of the City of Books.
    To access those already cataloged, click this link then, on the home page, click “Advanced search” then, on a new page, choose the location “Saint-John Perse Foundation” and enter your query.
    You want to be aware of all the books owned by the Foundation on birds (only those who have been cataloged course) ? Enter the word “fowl” : 17 answers given, including some little known, including master's theses. Opportunity to limit the scope “against the titre” and ask whether “bird” (3 answers), whether “fowl” (13 answers).

  • 151 manuscripts were first featured in the BN-Opaline catalog of the National Library of France (closed since 2007), it has been integrated from the catalog of the Bnf.

Available on the Foundation website

Local communication

Free access

  • critical library
  • Library works
  • Library Annex

Indirect access or on request

  • manuscripts
  • the correspondance
  • personal library
  • the library
  • the museum staff
  • Fund audio-visual
  • records

Rules consultation

Documents are available on site (no external loan).
Students and researchers interested in working on heritage collections should contact the archivist to make an appointment.
A son arrivée, the researcher will fill a form stating their identity and the nature of its research. The form includes, in particular, engagement thank the Foundation for any public use of its collections and file a copy of its work, typed or printed. Proof of her research will also be asked : letter from memory (master) or Director of Research (thesis), letter editor for a publishing project.
The use of the laptop is possible. The Foundation may make available to the public internet access (wifi).

Reprography

Photocopies are allowed with the exception of annotated documents or fragile works and libraries, journals, and clippings in folders. Reproductions of correspondence, manuscripts, photographs, museum objects, audio-visual, literary and personal files are not allowed.
Copies are limited and pay (0,15 € per page). The Foundation also offers a service for scanning archives for the press and publishing (Copyright and reproduction costs and time to provide rights).

Les collections

A travers 20 000 documents, la Fondation restitue l’univers culturel d’un des plus grands créateurs du XXe siècle : manuscrits, correspondances, livres de la bibliothèque personnelle, éditions de l’oeuvre, travaux critiques, photographies, oeuvres d’art, objets, disques et dossiers. Ces fonds se distinguent par leur caractère patrimonial (14 100 documents ont appartenu à Saint-John Perse) et la multiplicité de leurs supports. Témoignages uniques, ils recomposent l’itinéraire intellectuel de Saint-John Perse et mettent en évidence la minutie de son travail de création. Des acquisitions et des dons viennent régulièrement enrichir les collections.

Dernières entrées dans les collections

Accès aux collections

Communication

Les collections sont décrites dans des catalogues papier accessibles sur place. Le fonds est en cours d’informatisation.

En ligne

  • Les ouvrages conservés à la Fondation, qu’il s’agisse de la bibliothèque personnelle d’Alexis Leger/Saint-John Perse ou d’autres, notamment des études sur lui, sont en cours de catalogage sur le site de la Cité du Livre.
    Pour accéder à ceux qui sont déjà catalogués, cliquez sur ce lien puis, sur la page d’accueil, cliquez sur « recherche avancée »  puis, sur une nouvelle page, choisissez la location « Fondation Saint-John Perse » et entrez votre requête.
    Vous souhaitez avoir connaissance de tous les ouvrages possédés par la Fondation sur les oiseaux (seulement ceux qui ont été catalogués bien sûr) ? Entrez le mot « oiseaux » : 17 réponses indiquées, dont certaines peu connues, notamment des mémoires de maîtrise. Possibilité de se limiter au champ « mot du titre » et de demander soit « oiseau » (3 réponses), soit « oiseaux » (13 réponses).

  • 151 manuscrits ont d’abord figuré dans le catalogue BN-OPALINE de la Bibliothèque nationale de France (fermé depuis 2007), celui-ci a été depuis intégré au catalogue général de la Bnf.

Consultables sur le site de la Fondation

 

Communication sur place

Accès libre

  • la bibliothèque critique
  • la bibliothèque d’oeuvres
  • la bibliothèque annexe

 

Accès indirect ou sur demande

  • les manuscrits
  • la correspondance
  • la bibliothèque personnelle
  • la photothèque
  • le musée personnel
  • le fonds audio-visuel
  • les dossiers

Règles de consultation

Les documents sont à consulter sur place (aucun prêt externe).
Les étudiants et chercheurs désirant travailler sur les collections patrimoniales sont priés de contacter le documentaliste afin de prendre rendez-vous.
A son arrivèe, le chercheur remplira un formulaire précisant son identité et la nature de ses recherches. Le formulaire comporte en particulier, l’engagement de remercier la Fondation pour tout usage public de ses collections et de déposer un exemplaire de ses travaux, dactylographiés ou imprimés. Un justificatif de recherche lui sera également demandé : lettre du directeur de mémoire (master) ou du directeur de recherche (thèse), lettre d’éditeur pour un projet de publication.
L’utilisation de l’ordinateur portable est possible. La Fondation peut mettre à la disposition du public un accès à internet (wifi).

Reprographie

Les photocopies sont autorisées à l’exception des documents annotés ou fragiles et pour les ouvrages des bibliothèques, les revues, et les coupures de presse contenues dans les dossiers. Les reproductions des correspondances, manuscrits, photographies, objets du musée, documents audio-visuels, dossiers personnels et littéraires ne sont pas autorisées.
Les photocopies sont limitées et payantes (0,15 € par page). La Fondation propose également un service de numérisation d’archives à destination de la presse et de l’édition (droits d’auteur et frais de reproduction et délais à prévoir).