Patrimony

““Unity recovered under what seemed diverse. ”
Birds IV


Manuscripts

More than 390 manuscripts trace the poet’s revisions from first drafts and exquisitely-calligraphied finished manuscripts to typescripts and proofs. The poems are catalogued individually by title; prose works are catalogued by genre: biography, speeches, tributes, notes. The collection features some fifty manuscripts by other writers, including Paul Claudel, René Char and Francis Ponge.

Correspondence

Some 4600 letters from Saint-John Perse/Alexis Leger and his wife, Dorothy Leger, attest to their lively exchanges with writers, critics, scholars, translators, editors, artists, scientists and diplomats. The earliest letters date back to his childhood. There is correspondence with innumerable prominent figures, including Jacques Rivière, Yves Bonnefoy, Pierre Mendès France, Rainer Maria Rilke and T.S. Eliot. In addition there are more than 1500 exchanges with lesser-known individuals and organizations. Diplomatic files assemble Alexis Leger’s correspondence during his years of public service, 1914-1940.

The poet’s personal library

Saint-John Perse's library included 3329 books, many of which are inscribed and annotated. A quarter of the documents are in English, reflecting his many years in the United States. While some volumes have bibliophilic interest, most are valuable for the light they shed on the poet himself. Ranging across the Dewey decimal system, they reflect the breadth of his curiosity. Works about the Caribbean, Asia and the United States are grouped into three clusters, since it is preferable to keep them together.

Journals

The private library includes literary journals that were owned by the poet and his wife. These 708 volumes represent more than 80 different publications such as the Cahiers du Sud, New French Review, Fountain and Planet.

Photograph library

The Foundation houses an important photography collection, with 4463 photographs, photographic plates and post cards that have biographical and historical significance. Examples are post cards illustrating late 19th century Antillean crafts, photos of the Gobi desert in 1921, and portraits of the poet by Lucien Clergue and Gisèle Freund.

Saint-John Perse's personal museum

Saint-John Perse owned 500 works of art and 484 other objects — writing instruments, medals and awards, flags, clothing, fabric, ship models and weapons. It ranges from his own childhood sketches to portraits of him by various artists. The collection includes paintings, drawings and sculpture, primarily from the 20th century, maps, antique engravings, and objects of Asian art. A collection of works by artist friends André Lhote, Marie Laurencin, André Dunoyer de Segonzac and Georges Braque has been enriched by 15 gifts from contemporary artists.

The audio visual collection

As a passionate fan of music, Saint-John Perse was deeply attuned to Igor Stravinski and Edgar Varèse. His rhythmic poems have inspired more than 40 musicians from the 1920s to the present. Among the 300 documents in this collection are the poet’s personal record collection, adaptations of his work by composers such as Darius Milhaud and Paul Bowles, the poet’s speeches, and various documents about him. The collection includes records, CDs, audio cassettes, videos, CD-Roms and musical scores.

Documents

Numerous other documents also figure in the collection. In the early years of his exile, the poet-diplomat was a consultant on French literature at the Library of Congress. Press clippings from those years often sparked images that later appeared in his poetry. Saint-John Perse filed clippings, often from the New York Times and National Geographic, into 140 meticulously labeled folders.

Press kits about Saint-John Perse

There are 60 boxes and folders of press clippings about the poet and his work. Twenty-one of them were assembled by the poet himself; the others by his wife and by the Foundation.

Personal and literary files

The poet and his wife assembled some 50 personal files and 20 literary files. Many of the literary files relate to the publication and translation of his works. They also include notes, letters and clippings about such varied questions as his citizenship, his house in southern France, his poems and his Nobel Prize.

The diplomatic files

Sixty-five diplomatic files include press clippings, notes and letters concerning Alexis Leger’s career between 1914 and 1940. Topics include his service in the French Embassy in Peking from 1916 to 1921; Aristide Briand; Europe and the League of Nations; the Quai d’Orsay between 1933 and 1940; World War II and Charles de Gaulle.

Les Collections Patrimoniales

« Unité recouvrée sous la diversité. »
Oiseaux IV


Les manuscrits

Plus de 390 manuscrits restituent le chantier du texte depuis les premiers brouillons jusqu’aux épreuves corrigées, en passant par les dactylographies et les manuscrits dits d’auteur, à la calligraphie étudiée. Le classement se fait par œuvre pour la poésie et par type de texte pour la prose (biographies, discours, hommages, témoignages, essais d’écriture, notes documentaires). Ce fonds comporte également une cinquantaine de manuscrits d’autres auteurs tels que Paul Claudel, René Char, ou Francis Ponge.

La correspondance

La correspondance particulière de Saint-John Perse/ Alexis Leger et de son épouse Dorothy Leger, riche de 4600 lettres, témoigne des échanges noués avec de nombreux écrivains, critiques, enseignants, traducteurs, éditeurs, administrateurs, artistes, scientifiques, politiques. La Fondation possède par exemple les lettres d’enfance de Saint-John Perse, la correspondance avec Jacques Rivière, Yves Bonnefoy, Pierre Mendès France, Rainer Maria Rilke, T. S. Eliot. Il existe également plus de 1500 correspondances échangées avec des particuliers secondaires, inconnus, ou des collectivités. La correspondance diplomatique échangée durant la période d’activité d’Alexis Leger (1914-1940) est conservée dans les dossiers diplomatiques.

La bibliothèque personnelle

La bibliothèque personnelle rassemble 3329 titres souvent annotés et dédicacés. Un quart des documents est en langue anglaise, le poète ayant longtemps vécu aux États-Unis. Si l’on remarque des ouvrages de bibliophilie, cette bibliothèque constitue avant tout une source documentaire. Le système de classification encyclopédique Dewey révèle l’étendue de sa curiosité. Trois fonds thématiques ont été cependant regroupés en raison de leur importance et de leur intérêt. Il aurait été dommage de disperser les nombreux ouvrages sur les Antilles, l’Asie et les États-Unis.

Les revues

Des revues, collections ou numéros isolés rassemblés par le poète ou par son épouse, complètent la bibliothèque personnelle. Ces 708 numéros appartiennent à 80 titres littéraires ou culturels comme les Cahiers du Sud, La Nouvelle Revue Française, Fontaine ou Planète.

La photothèque

La Fondation Saint-John Perse abrite aussi une importante photothèque. Les 4463 photographies, plaques de verre ou cartes postales présentent un intérêt biographique, voire historique. Il en est ainsi des cartes postales représentant les petits métiers aux Antilles à la fin du XIXe siècle, des photographies du Désert de Gobi en 1921, ou des portraits du poète par Lucien Clergue et Gisèle Freund.

Le musée personnel

Saint-John Perse possédait d’autre part 500 œuvres d’art et 484 objets personnels d’une grande variété (ustensiles de bureau, costumes, médailles, décorations, tissus, drapeaux, maquettes, armes). Outre ses propres dessins de jeunesse et les portraits de lui-même par divers artistes, le fonds iconographique réunit des cartes géographiques, des gravures anciennes, des œuvres d’art asiatique, des peintures, dessins ou sculptures, principalement du XXe siècle. 15 dons d’artistes contemporains sont venus récemment s’ajouter aux œuvres de peintres amis comme André Lhote, Marie Laurencin, André Dunoyer de Segonzac, Georges Braque.

Le fonds audio-visuel

Le mélomane auteur de Vents entretenait une vraie complicité avec Igor Stravinski et Edgar Varèse. Ses poèmes au large rythme ont d’ailleurs envoûté une quarantaine de musiciens des années vingt à nos jours. Parmi les 300 documents du fonds audio-visuel, on trouve sa discothèque personnelle, des adaptations de son œuvre composées entre autres par Darius Milhaud ou Paul Bowles, ses discours et des documents sur lui. Disques, cd, cassettes, partitions, vidéos, cd-rom sont les supports multiples de cette collection.

Les dossiers

Les dossiers documentaires

De nombreux dossiers complètent la donation. N’oublions pas que le poète-diplomate fut un temps conseiller pour la littérature française à la Bibliothèque du Congrés. Les images oniriques de sa poésie proviennent souvent de l’assemblage de faits bien réels relevés dans des coupures de presse. 140 dossiers documentaires à caractère encyclopédique, pour la plupart méticuleusement titrés, contiennent en effet de nombreux articles, souvent découpés dans The New York Times ou The National Geographic Magazine.

Les dossiers de presse sur Saint-John Perse

60 dossiers ou boîtes contiennent des coupures de presse sur le poète ou son œuvre. Ces dossiers ont été constitués par lui-même pour 21 d’entre eux, puis par sa femme ou par la Fondation à partir des envois de l’Argus de la presse.

Les dossiers privés et littéraires

Une cinquantaine de dossiers privés et une vingtaine de dossiers littéraires ont été réunis par l’écrivain ou par son épouse. Les dossiers à caractère littéraire concernent le plus souvent l’édition et la traduction des œuvres. Composés de notes, de correspondances et de coupures de presse, ils portent par exemple sur l’état civil, la propriété de Giens, l’œuvre littéraire ou le Prix Nobel..

Les dossiers diplomatiques

65 dossiers diplomatiques constitués de coupures de presse, notes et correspondances concernent la carrière d’Alexis Leger entre 1914 et 1940, son séjour à l’Ambassade de France à Pékin entre 1916 et 1921, Aristide Briand, l’Europe et la Société des Nations, le secrétariat général entre 1933 et 1940, la guerre 1939-1945 ou bien Charles de Gaulle.